Skip to main content
Flag of Palau


Republic of Palau Australia-Oceania Melekeok 21,186 inhabitants 459 sq km 46.16 inhabitants/sq km the US dollar is used population evolution

Famous people from Palau

Here is a list of famous people from Palau. Curious if anybody from Palau made it our most famous people in the world list? Read the aformentioned article in order to find out.

Tommy Remengesau


Thomas Esang Remengesau, Jr. is a Palauan politician who was President of Palau from 2001 to 2009. He was elected to another four-year term as President in November 2012 and took office on 17 January 2013. He became Vice-President in 1992 and was elected as President in 2000; he took office on January 1, 2001. He wished to make Palau less dependent upon United States aid, and promoted the expansion and growth of the tourist industry through his policy and slogan of, Preserve the Best and Improve the Rest. The "best" here, being an allusion to Palau's especially gifted and diverse underwater resource in the Micronesian region, and its reputation of being considered among the top in underwater attractions of the world. In Palau's foreign affairs, Remengesau had been active in maintaining Palau's presence in the UN. During his administration the tiny nation of Palau had elevated to becoming known as an unheralded leader amongst the international community through environmental initiatives, such as the Micronesian Challenge and its cooperation with South Pacific Nations in advocating awareness of Global Warming and its effects in the South Pacific Region.

Johnson Toribiong


Johnson Toribiong is a Palauan attorney and politician. Toribiong became the President of Palau, following his victory in the November 2008 election. The electorate rejected him in the November 2012 election

Kuniwo Nakamura


Kuniwo Nakamura was the President and foreign minister of Palau from 1993 until 2001.

Stevick Patris


Stevick Patris is a Palauan weightlifter. He competed at the 2012 Summer Olympics in the Men's 62 kg event where he finished ranked at 14.

Lazarus Salii


Lazarus Eitaro Salii was a politician from Palau. He served as the third President of Palau from 25 October 1985 until he committed suicide on 20 August 1988, amid bribery allegations. Salii was involved in the Palau Constitutional Convention of 1978. After the Constitution took effect in 1981, he became an ambassador until 1984, when he became a senator, representing Koror in the Palau National Congress. When President Haruo Remeliik was assassinated on 30 June 1985, Salii was elected in August to finish his term of office. Following his suicide by shooting in 1988, he was succeeded by Vice President Remengesau as acting president, followed by Ngiratkel Etpison as the fourth president.

Haruo Remeliik


Haruo Ignacio Remeliik was a politician from Palau. He served as the first President of Palau from 2 March 1981 until his assassination on 30 June 1985. He is buried at Kloulklubed in his home state of Peleliu. Remeliik was of mixed Japanese and Palauan descent. Remelik's killers remain unknown. Remelik was shot in the driveway of his home by an unidentified gunman. Six months after the killing, two relatives of Roman Tmetuchl and another man were arrested in connection to the killing; however, they were later released.

Kerai Mariur


Kerai Mariur is the Vice President of Palau. His qualifications include a Major Degree in Business Administration and Higher Accounting received from Cannon’s International Business College Honolulu United States. Serving in the Palau National Congress as a four-term member of the House of Delegates, Mariur has played a key role in the Economic and Environmental legislature of the Republic of Palau. Laws accredited to Mariur during his time served in Congress include the Marine Protection Act, Republic of Palau Copyright Act and Protected Areas Network Act. His appointments during his term in congress include Chairmanship of the Standing Committee on Youth & Cultural Affairs, Judiciary and Governmental Affairs, Environment and Ecology, and the Ways and Means of Financial Matters. Johnson Toribiong selected Mariur to be his nominee for Vice President in the 2008 Palauan election. After winning the election, they were inaugurated on 15 January 2009. Mariur also became Minister of Administration and Finance.

Elias Camsek Chin


Elias Camsek Chin is a Palauan politician. He served as the Vice President of Palau from 1 January 2005 to 15 January 2009. Chin defeated incumbent Sandra Pierantozzi in vice-presidential elections held on 2 November 2004, winning 71.1% of the vote.

Ngiratkel Etpison


Ngiratkel Etpison was a politician from Palau. He was elected the country's president in the 1988 elections, the final elections conducted under a plurality voting system, in which he received just 26% of the votes cast, defeating opponent Roman Tmetuchl by a margin of 31 votes. The near-tie led elections in Palau to be reformed, and after that they were conducted under majority voting, with a second round if no candidate received more than half of all votes cast. Ngiratkel Etpison was the first president that survived his entire presidency. He served from 1 January 1989 to 1 January 1993. He ran again in the 1992 elections, but attracted just 2,084 votes compared to rivals Johnson Toribiong with 3,188 votes and Kuniwo Nakamura with 3,125 votes. While in office, Etpison proposed a request to the United States of America to grant Palau independence from its 43 year U.N. trusteeship. Because of the Palauan constitutional requirement of achieving a 75% majority vote, the initial proposal was overturned. This proposal would later develop into the Compact of Free Association, an agreement with the United States that would grant independence to the Republic of Palau. The Compact of Free Association was approved by the United States in 1994 under Kuniwo Nakamura after negotiating a 50 year stimulus plan to support Palau's founding of its new Republic in exchange for military assets in land.

Thomas Remengesau, Sr.


Thomas Ongelibel Remengesau, also known Thomas Remengesau, Senior is a politician in Palau. He was Vice President of Palau twice, and acting President of Palau twice, following the violent deaths of two presidents. His son Tommy Remengesau was the 6th President of Palau.

Sandra Pierantozzi


Sandra Sumang Pierantozzi is a Palauan politician. She served as the country's Vice-President from 19 January 2001 to 1 January 2005. Pierantozzi was defeated by Camsek Chin in the 2 November 2004 vice-presidential election, winning only 28.9% of the vote.

Ruby Joy Gabriel

Olympic athlete

Ruby Joy Gabriel is a Palauan female sprinter who competed in the 100 metres event at the 2012 Summer Olympics.

Rodman Teltull

Olympic Track and field Athlete

Rodman Teltull is a Palauan sprinter who competes in the 100 metres. He was flag bearer for Palau at the 2012 Summer Olympics opening ceremony. He took part in the 100 metres at the 2012 Summer Olympics in London, but did not progress past the preliminaries, though he set a career-best time of 11.06.

Peoria Koshiba


Peoria Koshiba is a track and field sprint athlete who competes internationally for Palau. Koshiba represented Palau at the 2008 Summer Olympics in Beijing. She competed at the 100 metres sprint and placed eighth in her heat without advancing to the second round. She ran the distance in a time of 13.18 seconds. She is currently serving as coach for young Palauns yearning to be track stars.

Keesha Keane


Keesha Keane is a Palauan swimmer. She competed in the women's 50m freestyle at the 2012 Summer Olympics in London finishing with a time of 28.25 seconds in 50th place in the heats.